2019 Federal Election - May 18

The Fight for Fisher

Keep up to date on all the candidates for the seat of Fisher in the May 18, 2019 Federal election.

For information on the election itself, how to vote, where to vote and the seat of Fisher, go to the official Australian Electoral Commission website.

To keep up with what the candidates say and do, make sure you read the Glasshouse Country & Maleny News each week during the election campaign.

You can also keep up to date by following our facebook page.

If you'd like a good rundown on the electorate of Fisher and its history - checkout ABC election page for Fisher.

The electorate of Fisher covers southern parts of the Sunshine Coast. It is centred on the town of Caloundra and includes the coast as far north as Alexandra Headland and inland towns including Landsborough and Maleny, extending down to Beerburrum.

Click on the image below to see a more detailed map of where the electorate extends.

Meet Your Candidates

Click on their image to read about who they are and what they stand for. (candidate profiles and information will be updated regularly)

Chris Paterson

One Nation Party 

Daniel Parsell

Australian Labor Party 

 Paul Monaghan

Love Australia or Leave Party

 Andrew Wallace

Liberal National Party





Tracy Burton

The Greens

Trevor Gray

United Australia Party



How to vote ... when to vote ... where to vote

At this election, you’ll be asked to vote using two ballot papers - a smaller green one for the House of Representatives (or Lower House) and a much larger white one for the Senate (or Upper House).

House of Representatives

You will need to number every box on the ballot paper – this is called ‘full preferential voting’. You number each candidate in order of who you prefer to win, from your top pick (number one) to your last pick. There will be instructions at the polling booth and on the ballot paper itself. Make sure you read them and understand what you have to do. If you have any questions, you can always just ask one of the Electoral Commission staff inside the polling station.
To read more about House of Representatives voting, go to the AEC website 


 On the white Senate ballot paper, you need to either:
  • number at least six boxes above the line for the parties or groups of your choice; or
  • number at least 12 boxes below the line for individual candidates of your choice.
To read more about Senate voting, go to the AEC website

Don't waste your vote ... informal voting

If a ballot paper is not completed correctly it is called an informal vote. An informal vote is unable to be counted and does not contribute towards determining the election result. Some reasons a ballot paper is informal are because: it is blank or unmarked; ticks or crosses have been used when numbering in order of preferences is required; the required number of boxes have not been marked; or it has writing on it which identifies the elector.

And don’t write comments on the ballot paper. You might think them witty, poignant or cutting, but no one really cares. The vote counters just count the votes, they don’t take notice of the comments and they definitely aren’t seen by anyone who you might be directing the comments at.

There are three main ways you can vote.

  1. Pre-poll voting is where you cast your ballot before the election day at one of the pre-polling stations. The details of these will be published as they are confirmed by the Australia Electoral Commission.
  2. Postal voting is where you apply to the Australian Electoral Commission and are send a voting ballot which you fill out and post back to them. This can be organised via the AEC website www.aec.gov.au, by calling them on 13 23 26 or or by completing a postal vote application form available from AEC offices at election time.
  3. Or you can turn up at any of the polling booths on election day and fill out the ballot paper there.
To read more about ways to vote, go to the AEC website
© 2019 Glasshouse Country News   |   Terms & Conditions   |   Privacy Policy   |   Website by Static Wave