IN true Maleny spirit, perseverance is the key to saving a valuable piece of dairy farming history from disintegration, as the Sunshine Coast Council set plans for restoration.
The heritage listed Pattemore cow bails (The Old Bails), constructed from white beech timber in 1908, are located on the Maleny Community Precinct.
Under the ownership of the local council and registered as the Fairview Cattle Management Area, a history of reports submitted since 2012 has detailed the significant link to Maleny’s share farming history through the original Pattemore family story.
The Friends of Pattemore House president Gail Denver said a new subcommittee was established in January to push the restoration “as they are rotting in the paddock”.
Gail added, “The Old Bails are viewed from the Maleny Precinct Heritage Trail and people comment on their state of dilapidation”.
Under the drive and passion of Fairview Bails Restoration Committee chairman John te Kloot, a visionary statement, “To restore and preserve the Fairview milking shed and yards for the future education and enjoyment of all”, was proposed.
Their mission entailed raising funding “to restore and preserve the Fairview shed and yards,
including the six unique walk-through cow bails”, to enable visitors safe access to guided tours and non-entry viewing.
Progress occurred when Council’s Head of Property Andrew Tout, senior Cultural Heritage members and Fairview Bails Restoration Committee members met onsite in February.
On witnessing the state of decline, the council agreed to commence clearing, safety, and structural engineering assessments, while subject to funding the view of ongoing works and restoration.
Gail notes they are also excited as additional support has come from Councillor Winston Johnston’s Discretionary Funding enabling repairs and replacement of The Old Bail’s external gates and cattle yards.
Looking to the future and with council support, the Fairview Bails Restorations Committee will work with Lions, Rotary and the Maleny District Sport and Recreation Club and other volunteers to maintain and preserve the historic site.